Montana Graduate Schools

A Graduate School is an education institution that offers graduate degrees, including Master and Doctorate degrees. This page lists all accredited graduate schools in the state of Montana that provide full-time or part-time graduate education leading to a postgraduate degree. Note: according to AbbreviationFinder, MT is the two-letter abbreviation of Montana.

Montana State University —
Bozeman, MT 59717
(406) 994-4145
http:// www. montana. edu

Montana. Tech of the
University of Montana
1300 West Park Street
Butte, MT 59701-8997
(406) 496-4128

University of Montana
Missoula, MT 59812
http:// www.

Montana State Overview

Montana is one of the western states of the United States. Numerous mountain ranges rise in the western third and individual mountains in the middle third. In total there are 77 named mountain ranges that belong to the Rocky Mountains. The state owes its name to this geographical circumstance. Montana comes from the Spanish word montaña , meaning “mountain”.

As the fourth largest state by area, Montana ranks only 44th in the United States by population. The main sources of income are, for the most part, in the East, animal husbandry and the cultivation of wheat. In the west, tourism plays the biggest role. Three of the five entrances to Yellowstone National Park are in Montana. Millions of tourists visit Glacier National Park and the site of the Battle of the Little Bighorn every year. This battle was probably the best-known act of war between Indians and whites in the “Great Sioux War” of 1876-1877. The Northern Cheyenne, led by Chief “Sitting Bull” had won a remarkable victory against the US 7th Cavalry led by George Armstrong Custer.

Montana, east of the “continental divide”, the North American watershed, was part of the so-called “Louisiana Purchase” of 1803, in which the Americans bought from the French an area stretching from Canada to the Gulf of Mexico.

After discoveries of gold and copper in the late 1850’s, Montana became United States territory on May 16, 1864 and joined the Union on November 8, 1889 as the 41st state.

  • Provides list of counties in Montana in alphabetical order. Also covers top 10 counties by area and population.

Geographical location

The state borders in the north on the Canadian provinces of British Columbia, Alberta and Saskatchewan. The US states of North Dakota and South Dakota border Montana to the east, Wyoming to the south, and Idaho to the west and southwest.

Capital city: Helena
Largest metropolis: Billings
Nickname: Treasure State
Big Sky Country
The Last Best Place
Motto: Oro y plata (Spanish: gold and silver)