Kentucky Graduate Schools

A Graduate School is an education institution that offers graduate degrees, including Master and Doctorate degrees. This page lists all accredited graduate schools in the state of Kentucky that provide full-time or part-time graduate education leading to a postgraduate degree. Note: according to AbbreviationFinder, KY is the two-letter abbreviation of Kentucky.

Eastern Kentucky University
Lancaster Avenue
Richmond, KY 40475-3101
(606) 622-1742

Kentucky State University
East Main Street
Frankfort, KY 40601
(502) 227-6117

Morehead State University
Morehead, KY 40351
(606) 783-2221

Murray State University
Sparks Hall
P.O. Box 9
Murray, KY 42071
(800) 272-4678

Northern Kentucky
LAC 400
Nunn Drive
Highland Heights, KY 41099-7010
(606) 572-6364

Spalding University
851 South Fourth Street
Louisville, KY 40203
(502) 585-9911 ext. 105

University of Kentucky
100 W.D. Funkhouser Building
Lexington, KY 40506
(606) 257-4615

University of Louisville
Houchens Building
Louisville, KY 40292
(800) 852-6525

Western Kentucky University
One Big Red Way
Bowling Green, KY 42101
(502) 745-2446

Kentucky State Overview

Ken-tah-ten was what the Iroquois said when they spoke of the “land of the future”. This is believed to be the origin of the name of the state of Kentucky. According to other assumptions, the name is said to have been derived from the Iroquoian word for “prairie” or “meadow” kenht√†-ke .

The official designation of the name is The Commonwealth of Kentucky . The term Commonwealth is also part of the name of Massachusetts, Pennsylvania and Virginia.

The state has the nickname Bluegrass State from the blue-green flowering grass pastures. The grass itself has green leaves. When left uncut and growing to its natural height of just under a meter, it has blue-green seed heads.

When settlers came to the country in the middle of the 18th century, they did not find any larger Indian settlements. It served as a hunting ground for the Shawnees and the Cherokee Indians. Large parts of present-day Kentucky were bought from the Indians (Treaties of Fort Stanwix, 1768 and Sycamore Shoals, 1775). Soon after, the area developed rapidly as the first settlements were established west of the Appalachian Mountains. Settlers from Virginia, North Carolina, Maryland, Delaware, and Pennsylvania came to this region.

On June 1, 1792, Kentucky, originally part of Virginia, became the 15th state to join the Union. During the American Civil War, Kentucky was one of the so-called “Border States”, those slave states that bordered on a slave-free state. Officially, however, Kentucky remained neutral because many citizens of the state sympathized with the Union.

  • Provides list of counties in Kentucky in alphabetical order. Also covers top 10 counties by area and population.

Geographical location

Kentucky borders seven neighboring states. West Virginia is to the east, Virginia to the southeast, Tennessee to the south, and Missouri to the west. Illinois and Indiana border Kentucky to the northwest and Ohio to the north and northeast. Kentucky is the only US state that has an exclave surrounded by other states. This exclave was created by displacements caused by the so-called “Madrid Earthquake” of 1812. It is located at the extreme southwestern point of Kentucky.

Capital city: Frankfort
Largest metropolis: Louisville
Nickname: Bluegrass State
Motto: United we stand, divided we fall